The GUINNESS PRO14 Championship is an annual rugby union competition, featuring top clubs from Ireland, Wales, Scotland, Italy and South Africa. The Isuzu Southern Kings have participated in the Guinness PRO14 Championship since 2017/2018.

Guinness Pro 14 logo

The 2019/2020 Pro14 (known as the Guinness Pro14 for sponsorship reasons) will be the nineteenth season of the professional rugby union competition originally known as the Celtic League. It will be the third season to be referred to as the Pro14 (the competition was named the Pro12 prior to the addition of two South African teams).

Fourteen teams are scheduled to compete in this season

four Irish teams: Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster;
two Italian teams: Benetton and Zebre;
two Scottish teams: Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors;
two South African teams: Cheetahs and the Southern Kings; and
four Welsh teams: Cardiff Blues, Dragons, Ospreys and Scarlets.


Competition Format

League Stage

The fourteen teams are split into two conferences of seven teams, with each conference featuring two teams from Ireland and Wales plus one team from Italy, Scotland and South Africa. To ensure a competitive balance, the teams are distributed approximately evenly between the conferences based upon their performance in the previous season.

The regular season is made up of 21 rounds

6 home and 6 away games against each team in their own conference
7 games, either home or away, against the teams in the other conference
2 additional regional derbies

– Each Irish team plays the two Irish teams in the other conference, one at home and one away
– Each Welsh team plays the two Welsh teams in the other conference, one at home and one away
– Each Italian team plays the Italian team in the other conference twice, home and away
– Each Scottish team plays the Scottish team in the other conference twice, home and away
– Each South African team plays the South African team in the other conference twice, home and away

League Play-Offs

The first-placed teams in both conferences are given byes to the semi-finals. The second and third placed teams in opposite conferences play off in two quarter-finals for the two remaining semi-final places.

Champions Cup Qualification

The South African teams cannot compete in the European Rugby Champions Cup. The top three eligible European teams in both conferences automatically qualify for following year’s Champions Cup. The fourth ranked eligible teams in each conference playoff with the winners taking the seventh Champions Cup place.

On the 1 August 2017, European-based Pro12 announced that the competition would expand to 14 teams — which meant being rebranded as Pro14 — and that the Isuzu Southern Kings would be one of the two teams joining the expanded tournament from the 2017/2018 season onwards.

League Points Table 2019/2020

1.Leinster Rugby13130047618161
2.Edinburgh Rugby13103035819547
3.Munster Rugby1394035221645
4.Ulster Rugby1284035525241
6.Connacht Rugby1376026429135
7.Glasgow Warriors1376033429634
8.Toyota Cheetahs1367034228032
9.Cardiff Blues1367024227529
10.Benetton Rugby1147024329924
12.Zebre Rugby Club12210020437014
14.Isuzu Kings1311202044987
view all